IBS Conferences
Lab on a Disc, Setting the Foundation for Diagnosing Diseases 게시판 상세보기
Title Lab on a Disc, Setting the Foundation for Diagnosing Diseases
Name Department of Communications Registration Date 2017-04-03 Hits 6432
att. jpg 파일명 : thumb.jpg thumb.jpg

Lab on a Disc, Setting the Foundation for Diagnosing Diseases

- CHO Yoon Kyoung, Group Leader at the IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter -

Interview Preview

Q: Director Steve Granick and you go back quite a long way.
A: Director Granick was my Ph.D. advisor at Univ. of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC), USA. The primary focus of my research back then was polymer under confinement. When polymer molecules are confined between two surfaces, the force required to move them are different from the case when they are in bulk. I studied how the type and the size of the polymer affect the intermolecular forces and the viscoelastic behavior of the confined polymers as a function of the thickness of the membrane.
In November 2015, I joined Director Granick's laboratory, IBS Center for Soft and Living Matter that opened in early 2014.

Q: You left Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology (SAIT) to join Ulsan National Institute of Science and Technology (UNIST).
A: I worked on lab-on-a-chip area for about 10 years in the industry and joined UNIST as an assistant professor in 2008. My friends were quite concerned about the change of the career path because UNIST was quite a new organization. However, the vision that I heard from the then UNIST President CHO Moo Je to make UNIST one of the world's top universities made me decide to move to UNIST.

Q: You are participating in publication of the journal Lab on a Chip by the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC).